Back to blog

2024 Jenkins Election Candidate Statements

Basil Crow
Mark Waite
Mark Waite
Valentin Delaye
Valentin Delaye
Kris Stern
Kris Stern
Alexander Brandes
Alexander Brandes
Oleg Nenashev
Oleg Nenashev
Alex Earl
Alex Earl
Stefan Spieker
Stefan Spieker
Tim Jacomb
Tim Jacomb
October 3, 2024

Candidate nominations for the 2024 Jenkins elections are now complete. Thanks to everyone who submitted nominations and to the candidates that have accepted the nominations.

This announcement shares the election candidates and their statements. Nominees for the Jenkins governance board include:

Nominees for the Jenkins release officer include:

As in years past, when a particular role receives only one nomination, an election is not required. Officers that do not require an election include:

Board Candidates

Alex Earl

I have been involved with Jenkins for many years, going back to the Hudson days. I got involved in the great community by making some changes that I needed at my company to one of the plugins. I then became maintainer of that plugin and continued to participate in the IRC channels and discussion forums to help improve Jenkins.

The community of Jenkins is one of the best features, in my opinion. The people are helpful, want to provide a great thing to the world, and are so invested in making Jenkins the best it can be.

As a member of the Jenkins Governance Board, I would love to continue pushing that community and excellence. Getting more people involved in development and helping is something I would like to focus on. A lot of people are intimidated by open source and contributing. I would like to work on that idea and help lower the barriers for others to get involved, learn and contribute.

Affiliations: Arm Ltd.

Alexander Brandes

I’ve been a passionate Jenkins user for almost a decade and have had the privilege of contributing to the project since 2020. Since 2022, I’ve been serving as a board member, and I’m also part of the release team, a core maintainer, as well as a maintainer of various plugins. Additionally, I’m involved in the hosting team, where I review and onboard new plugins into the Jenkins ecosystem.

One of my personal highlights this year was participating as a mentor in Google Summer of Code 2024, where I successfully onboarded two students to the Jenkins project. I ensured their projects were a success, further strengthening the future of the Jenkins community.

As a board member, I’ve attended various in-person events to represent the Jenkins project and spread the word about our vibrant community. From FOSDEM 2023 and 2024 to KubeCon 2023, CdCon 2023, and a GSoC meetup in Munich and Sunnyvale, I’ve built strong connections with fellow community members and like-minded individuals.

I firmly believe in the future of Jenkins, especially with the ongoing and upcoming UI/UX rework and the efforts to ensure Jenkins stays ahead of modern technology. One of our key focuses is ensuring Jenkins can run seamlessly out of the box on platforms like Java 22.

Throughout my time on the project, I’ve documented various in-house workflows, including the LTS release process, and introduced numerous automations to reduce human input. These efforts help keep Jenkins agile and efficient as we move forward into the future.

Affiliations: Card4Vend

Stefan Spieker

I started contributing regularly in 2019, with a focus on improving quality. I’m also keeping up with some older plugins that are still really popular, like the Thin Backup Plugin and the Job Configuration History Plugin. The community helped me to bring these back up to standard and I learned a lot along the way. Furthermore, I use these lessons to make regular improvements to the developer documentation.

In my day job, I’m a solution architect in a central team that provides Jenkins and DevOps consulting within a big automotive and industrial company.

I’m already honored to be nominated, but if elected and allowed to serve on the Jenkins Board, I’d love to bring the perspective of bigger enterprises using Jenkins. I also plan to improve the developer documentation to make it easier for new maintainers to adopt abandoned plugins and keep the Jenkins ecosystem as diverse as it is today.

Affiliations: Schaeffler

Valentin Delaye

I’ve been a Jenkins user since it’s inception in 2011 and contributor since 2018. As of today I maintain more than 35 plugins.

Starting of this year I got even more involved in the Jenkins community, by participating as a mentor for the Google Summer of Code to work on the Jenkins Plugin Modernizer Tool which is a CLI to update plugins at scale using OpenRewrite.

I’m particularly interested in the "cloud ready" aspect of Jenkins including deployments, packaging (like Jenkinsfile Runner) or distributed storage. A recent contribution on this topic is the Artifactory Artifact Manager plugin that I authored and maintain.

If I’m elected on the Jenkins governance board those will be my subjects of choice.

Affiliations: ELCA Cloud Services

Kris Stern

Kris has been helping out with Jenkins' GSoC participation organization since 2022 and has volunteered to be a GSoC project mentor. She has participated in GSoC twice as a contributor/student previously in 2019 and 2020, and has been trained academically as an astrophysicist with a PhD in the discipline of observational astronomy obtained from the University of Hong Kong in 2021. Professionally, Kris works in the IT sector as a software engineer. She has work experiences in Python, C++, Java, JavaScript, TypeScript, HTML, CSS/Sass, JQuery, SQL, and has completed projects in software development in general and specifically in artificial intelligence/deep learning/computer vision, Qt programming, and web development. Kris is passionate about open-source and would like to share this passion with fellow learners. Currently, Kris is a part-time MCIT Online student at UPenn.

Affiliations: Undeclared

Oleg Nenashev

Jenkins core maintainer, open source software and open hardware advocate. Oleg started using Hudson for Hardware/Embedded projects in 2008 and became an active Jenkins contributor in 2012. He maintains Jenkinsfile Runner and organizes Jenkins meetups in Switzerland and online.

Affiliations: Gradle, Inc.

Profile Links: GitHub, LinkedIn, Jenkins community

Officer Candidates

Release Officer - Alex Earl

I have been involved with Jenkins for many years, going back to the Hudson days. I got involved in the great community by making some changes that I needed at my company to one of the plugins. I then became maintainer of that plugin and continued to participate in the IRC channels and discussion forums to help improve Jenkins.

The community of Jenkins is one of the best features, in my opinion. The people are helpful, want to provide a great thing to the world, and are so invested in making Jenkins the best it can be.

As a member of the Jenkins Governance Board, I would love to continue pushing that community and excellence. Getting more people involved in development and helping is something I would like to focus on. A lot of people are intimidated by open source and contributing. I would like to work on that idea and help lower the barriers for others to get involved, learn and contribute.

Affiliations: Arm Ltd.

Release Officer - Tim Jacomb

I have been a user of Jenkins for the last 14 years and a regular contributor since 2018. I began with maintaining the Slack plugin, and over the last couple of years, I have expanded my experience with several more plugins and the Jenkins core. These are some of the components I maintain when I have time: Slack, Azure Key Vault, Junit, most of the Database plugins, Dark theme, Plugin installation manager, Jenkins Helm chart, and Configuration as code plugin.

I am a member of the Jenkins infrastructure team. I was involved in the release automation project and the mirrors modernisation effort, along with the day to day support helping people regain access to accounts etc.

As Release Officer, I would like to increase automation, ease onboarding of new contributors to the release team, and ensure that responsibilities rotate among people so that I won’t be a bottleneck for any task.

Affiliations: Kainos

About the authors

Basil Crow

Basil is a long-time Jenkins user and contributor, a Jenkins core maintainer, and the maintainer of the Email Extension, Timestamper, and Swarm plugins (among others). Basil enjoys working on open source software in his free time.

Mark Waite

Mark Waite

Mark is a member of the Jenkins governing board, a long-time Jenkins user and contributor, a core maintainer, and maintainer of the git plugin, the git client plugin, the platform labeler plugin, the embeddable build status plugin, and several others. He is one of the authors of the "Improve a plugin" tutorial.

Valentin Delaye

Valentin Delaye

Valentin is an open source enthusiast and a DevOps engineer from Switzerland. He’s passionate about automation and infrastructure as code. He’s currently maintainer of around 30 Jenkins plugins in different areas (APIs, cloud-native, pluggable storage, etc.).

Kris Stern

Kris Stern

Kris has been helping out with Jenkins' GSoC participation organization since 2022 and has volunteered to be a GSoC project mentor. She has participated in GSoC twice as a contributor/student previously in 2019 and 2020, and has been trained academically as an astrophysicist with a PhD in the discipline of observational astronomy obtained from the University of Hong Kong in 2021. Professionally, Kris works in the IT sector as a software engineer. She has work experiences in Python, C++, Java, JavaScript, TypeScript, HTML, CSS/Sass, JQuery, SQL, and has completed projects in software development in general and specifically in artificial intelligence/deep learning/computer vision, Qt programming, and web development. Kris is passionate about open-source and would like to share this passion with fellow learners. Currently, Kris is a part-time MCIT Online student at UPenn.

Alexander Brandes

Alexander Brandes

Alexander is a member of the Jenkins governing board, a core maintainer, and release team member, and actively involved in the process of releasing Jenkins weekly and Long-Term-Support builds.
He maintains the Ionicons API plugin and several other plugins.
If he doesn’t work on open source software, Alexander enjoys listening to music and going for a run.

Oleg Nenashev

Oleg Nenashev

Jenkins core maintainer and board member, open source software and open hardware advocate, TOC member in the Continuous Delivery Foundation. Oleg started using Hudson for Hardware/Embedded projects in 2008 and became an active Jenkins contributor in 2012. He maintains Jenkinsfile Runner, contributes to several Jenkins SIGs and outreach programs (Google Summer of Code, Hacktoberfest) and organizes Jenkins meetups in Switzerland and online. Oleg works on the WireMock project and WireMock Cloud community at WireMock Inc.

Alex Earl

Alex Earl

Alex comes from a .NET background but likes to get his hands dirty in many different languages and frameworks. He currently does embedded development in a silicon validation group. He is an internal evangelist for Jenkins at his company. Alex is a community contributor to Jenkins, working on plugin hosting and maintaining several plugins. He is also involved in a few SIGS. Alex enjoys working on open source software in his "free" time as well as spending time with his family.

Stefan Spieker

Stefan Spieker

I started contributing regularly in 2019, with a focus on improving quality. I’m also keeping up with some older plugins that are still really popular, like the Thin Backup Plugin and the Job Configuration History Plugin. The community helped me to bring these back up to standard and I learned a lot along the way. Furthermore, I use these lessons to make regular improvements to the developer documentation.

In my day job, I’m a solution architect in a central team that provides Jenkins and DevOps consulting within a big automotive and industrial company.

Tim Jacomb

Tim Jacomb

Jenkins core maintainer, along with slack, azure-keyvault and configuration-as-code plugins. Tim started using Jenkins in 2013 and became an active contributor in 2018. Tim enjoys working on open source software in his “free” time.

Discuss